©Gaul’s Legacy Tours

US Memorial Diekirch

Where? 25, Avenue de la Gare, L-9233 Diekirch

The US Memorial located in the municipal parc of Diekirch river remembers a number of US units that were present in and around the city, September 1944 – February 1945.

The US Memorial of Diekirch is located on the banks of the Sûre next to the pedestrian bridge that spans the river. Inaugurated in 1984 on the initiative of the Diekirch National Museum of Military History on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the liberation of Luxembourg and the Battle of the Bulge, it pays tribute to all those US military units that were stationed, fought and transitted through Diekirch and surrounding areas from September 1944 to February 1945. 

A bronze plaque at the bottom of the pedestrial of the monument shows the former railroad bridge, replaced later by the present concrete foot bridge. 

Units of the 5th US Armored Division liberated the town for the first time via that railroad bridge. The same bridge was used during the night of December 19/20, 1944 by approximately 6.000 civilians to flee the town in great haste face to the approaching enemy. Finally, the partially destroyed bridge was used in 1945 by units of the 5th US Infantry Division during the “Sauer river” crossing operations. It was repaired to be re-used as again a railroad bridge until 1962.

Contact

Address: US Memorial Diekirch
25, Avenue de la Gare
L-9233 Diekirch
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Deiwelselter
This remarkable monument, once a burial site, is a landmark of the town of Diekirch. Those who hike there are rewarded by a great view of the village and its green surroundings.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Vianden Dam
The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bunker Kaundorf
This bunker from World War II, where deserted forced conscripts hid until liberation, can be reached via an approx. 1 km-long footpath. The walk is well worth it, as hikers near the bunker are rewarded by an impressive view over the Upper Sûre Lake.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Bourscheid Hougeriicht – High justice
In the 15th or 16th century, a witch trial in Bourscheid unfolded with accusations of devilish pacts and plots against God's creation. This dark chapter mirrors a broader era of witch hunts in Luxembourg, fueled by societal turmoil, economic struggles, and the fear of a mysterious witchcraft sect.
Find out more
©Brainplug
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Slate Museum - Musée de l'Ardoise
Discover the fascinating world underground at the Haut-Martelange Slate Museum! Experience the history and techniques of slate extraction and immerse yourself in the new, fascinating "Johanna" visitor gallery. Experience the everyday life of slate workers at first hand!
Find out more
©Ville d'Ettelbruck
Patton Monument Ettelbruck
Discover the Patton Memorial in Ettelbruck, an important place of remembrance. This monument honours General George Patton Jr, whose 3rd US Army liberated Ettelbruck in December 1944, stopping the invasion of the Wehrmacht during the Battle of the Bulge.
Find out more