©Visit Éislek

Vianden Dam

Where? L-9419 Vianden

The Vianden Dam is currently being transformed into an oversized artwork.

On the initiative of the ViArt asbl Art Association and in collaboration with the SEO (Société Electrique de l'Our), German artist Klaus Dauven, with the assistance of Kärcher, is creating a "Reverse Graffiti" artwork. The motif depicts the faces of five workers who were involved in the construction of the structure. The dam, with its lower reservoir, upper reservoir, and underground facilities of the pumped storage power plant, is located in Vianden. Immerse yourself in the fascinating fusion of art and architecture and experience this unique artwork that honors the history and the people involved in the construction of the structure.

Opening hours

Contact

Address: Staumauer
L-9419 Vianden
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
St. Pierre Chapel
The chapel in Lellingen is an octagonal masterpiece that combines history and architecture in unique harmony.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
©Jängel Klasen
Veiner Gare – Former Trainstation
Nestled along the River Our, the town of Vianden once boasted a unique railway connection – the "Benny Express." This narrow-gauge line operated from 1889 to 1948, linking Vianden with Diekirch's main railway, a vital step in making the town more accessible to tourists.
Find out more
©Pancake! Photographie
free
with theLuxembourgPass
National Museum of Military History Diekirch
Discover life-size dioramas that sensitively depict the battles and lives of soldiers during the Second World War and explore the impressive collection of over 100,000 military artefacts!
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
General Patton Memorial Museum
The General Patton Memorial Museum in Ettelbruck commemorates the commander of the 3rd US Army whose troops liberated the town on 25 December 1944. The exhibition illustrates the most important events that occurred during the Second World War in Luxembourg.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
St. Lawrence Church Diekirch
The Laurentius Church in Diekirch was planned by Pierre Biwer and completed in 1868. It was declared a national monument in 2017.
Find out more
Përmeshaff – Estate ruins
Përmeshaff, a historic site near Kaundorf, traces its roots to 1195. Over the centuries, it evolved into a religious centre, attracting pilgrims to its chapel and healing springs. Despite enduring a devastating fire in 1936, recent archaeological efforts have unveiled layers of its rich history, highlighting significance of Përmeshaff as a cultural landmark.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
National Strike Monument Wiltz
Visit the impressive monument commemorating the general strike during the Second World War. Learn more about the tragic events of that time that shaped Luxembourg's history.
Find out more
©DCK
Former village mill Weiswampach
The village of Weiswampach holds a unique place in Éislek’s history. While most mills in the region were bound by thirlage laws, forcing villagers to use a specific mill and pay fees to the local lord, the Weiswampach mill was a remarkable exception. Though the mill itself no longer stands, its story reveals the complexities of the past and the ways local circumstances could sometimes defy rigid systems.
Find out more