©Syndicat d'Initiative Stolzemburg

Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass – Former Castle

Stolzembourg Castle, rooted in history since 1192, witnessed destruction in 1454 and 1679 before being revitalized with a Scottish-style manor house in 1898.

Stolzembourg Castle, perched atop a hill in the heart of Stolzembourg village, has a rich history that spans centuries. Mentioned as early as 1192, it began as a simple tower, serving as a lookout along the River Our road in the county of Vianden.

The castle's fortunes were tumultuous. In 1454, Governor Antoine I de Croÿ ordered its destruction, a fate repeated in 1679 during the Dutch War when Louis XIV's troops ravaged its walls. Left in ruins for over two centuries, its story took a turn in 1898.

An Englishwoman named Mrs. Digby purchased the site and constructed a Scottish-style manor house adjacent to the ruins. This marked the beginning of a new chapter for Stolzembourg Castle, now privately owned.

Throughout the 20th century, the castle changed hands and underwent renovations, adapting to the tastes and needs of its owners. Despite the transformations, it retained its historical significance, serving as a reminder of the area's past.

With support for restoration efforts, there is hope that one day Stolzembourg castle’s doors may reopen, allowing visitors to step back in time and explore its ruins.

Contact

Address: Putscheid Stolzebuerger Schlass
Rue de Putscheid
L-9464 Stolzembourg
Show on map

More sites

©Visit Éislek
Memorial Site Schumann's Eck
At the strategic road junction "Schumannseck", the most murderous position war raged for weeks during the Battle of the Bulge. Today, the 1944-1945 Liberation Memorial stands here in the spirit of reconciliation and understanding between peoples as a memorial against war in the world.
Find out more
Saint-Hubert Church
Discover the fascinating architecture of the church, built on the ruins of a pagan site!
Find out more
Decanal church
The Wiltz Deanery Church has two naves and was built at many periods, repeatedly destroyed, enlarged and altered. A visit provides an insight into the building's turbulent past.
Find out more
©Communes de Witz
Gierwerei – Leather industry
Wiltz: Where Leather Found a Global Market
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
free
with theLuxembourgPass
Copper Mine Stolzembourg
Accompanied by a guide, discover the informative museum about the geology of the region, the history of the mine and the different mining periods. Follow the geological trail with 10 display panels and explore the deep underground galleries!
Find out more
©Charles Leon Mayer
Schleef Gare – Former Trainstation
Schleif: Tiny Hamlet, Big Role in the Battle of the Bulge
Find out more
Anti-tank gun 43
At the Houfëls viewpoint, the imposing presence of two World War II relics awaits visitors.
Find out more
Fransiscan Church
The Franciscan church of Troisvierges is an impressive religious landmark in the heart of the town. With its imposing architecture and historic charm, the church is a place of peace and contemplation.
Find out more
©Visit Éislek
Kalborn Mill
The mill in Kalborn, which is over 200 years old, has developed into a nature conservation centre. Endangered river pearl and brook mussels are bred here. Information boards in front of the mill show how gardens can provide habitats for wildlife and insects.
Find out more

Take a journey into the past

Schleif Winsler
©Visit Éislek

Rediscovering past heritage in the Éislek

The LEADER project ‘Time Travel’ brings the history of Éislek to life in a special way.

Read all time travel stories